Contractors Training

Finance, Accounting and Management Seminars by Wayne Newell

Courses for Construction Professionals

Finance and Accounting for Non-Financial Managers

Finance and Accounting for Non-Financial Managers

April 30, May 1 & 2, 2024 | October 8, 9 & 10, 2024

While operations are fundamental to the success of contracting businesses, a strong foundation in finance and accounting is equally vital. Construction leaders wishing to prioritize financial literacy and integrate it into their business strategy will acquire the practical skills needed to navigate challenges, seize opportunities, and achieve long-term success.

read more
Project Managers Guide to Accounting Practices, Cost Controls and Financial Reports

Project Managers Guide to Accounting Practices, Cost Controls and Financial Reports

June 4, 5 & 6, 2024 | November 19, 20 & 21, 2024

The success of a construction project is a team effort involving many roles including project managers and accountants. This course aims to provide project management professionals with a comprehensive understanding of construction financial management. It bridges the gap between construction processes and accounting knowledge, ensuring that project managers have the necessary financial insight to make informed decisions.

read more
Profitable Contracting

Profitable Contracting

May 22 & 23, 2024 | November 5 & 6, 2024

The successes of construction companies are attributed to the relationships between operations and financial personnel. Managers and owners who excel in both areas can optimize performance, manage risks effectively, allocate resources efficiently, and capitalize on growth opportunities.

read more
Accountants Guide to Project Management

Accountants Guide to Project Management

May 14 & 15, 2024 | October 29 & 30, 2024

This course aims to bridge the gap between financial professionals and project managers by teaching accountants the language of construction project management. This includes insight into understanding how project information relates to different stages of projects.

read more

How it Works

Gold Seal Certification

ALL courses have been accredited by the Canadian Construction Association.

Course hours can be used towards the Gold Seal Certification application for credits, subject to credit approval upon review.

(Every 6 hours of learning equals one Gold Seal credit)

Scheduling

Wayne collaborates closely with the Canadian construction association in your locality to coordinate and market his courses.

All registration and payment processes are facilitated exclusively through your local association.

Additionally, each course is complemented with an e-manual, provided directly to participants by the association for their reference and utilization post-course.

Start Times

All LCA courses are 1/2 day sessions and offered via Zoom.

PST: 8:30 am


MST: 9:30 am


CST: 10:30 am

EST: 11:30 an

AST: 12:30 pm


NST:  1:00 pm

About the Trainer

For over 35 years Wayne worked in senior financial leadership roles with companies throughout Canada, the United States and the Caribbean. His experiences and expertise, shared with many companies, has helped owners, managers, employees and businesses grow. In doing so, he has amassed a library of knowledge on what makes a successful contracting company.

During his workshops he discusses his experiences in implementing specific techniques, methods and strategies used to help contracting companies increase profits, control and/or reduce costs and improve cash flows. He has been presenting his exclusive seminars in major Canadian cities since 2003. He was awarded his CMA in 1972.

Wayne’s experience ranges from guiding small, medium and large contractors. No matter the size of the company, he has shown owners, managers and employees how to best perform, lead, and follow; all the while saving money and time.

Wayne was warded his CMA (Certified Management Accountant) designation in 1972 and presented his first course, Profitable Contracting, in Moncton, New Brunswick in 2003. Following the success of this course, Wayne developed four other courses, exclusively for the construction industry.

He has presented his courses to various Construction Associations across Canada, as well as, to the Canadian Land Surveyor Associations, the Sheet Metal Contractors Association of Alberta and the Canadian Mechanical Contractors Education Foundation.

All of Wayne’s courses are now presented in 1/2 day segments online, via Zoom.